Reported speech, questions

1. She said to me: “I shall go shopping when Mother comes”.
She told me that she should go shopping when her Mother comes.

2. “Why has the 2:30 train been cancelled?” asked Ann.
Ann asked why the 2:30 train had been cancelled.

3. “Are there smoking compartments in this train?” I asked the conductor.
I asked the conductor if there were smoking compartments in that train.

4. “Don’t believe everything you hear” Martha warned me.
Martha warned me don’t believe everything I hear.

5. I told him to put on his hat if he didn’t want to catch a cold.
I told him: “Put on your hat if you don’t want to catch a cold.”

6. “Yesterday I saw an accident on my way to the University” he said.
He said that he had seen an accident on his way to the University the day before.

7. “Who has dropped this ten pound note?” I asked.
I asked who had dropped that ten pound note.

8. “Are you interested in politics?” asked Bob.
Bob asked if I was interested in politics.

9. “Please, do as I say” he begged me.
He begged me to do as he say.

10. He asked me if I had already translated the article.
“Have you already translated the article?” he asked me.

11. “A young lady wants to see you, Mr. Poirot” said the land lady.
The land lady told Mr. Poirot that a young lady wanted to see him.

12. “Who is going to live in this big house?” he asked.
He asked who was going to live in that big house.

13. “Did you play for your school team?” he said.
He asked me if I play for my school team.

14. “Take a deep breath” said Sally.
Sally said that taken a deep breath.

15. Mrs. Green told him that he was too soft-hearted.
“He is too soft-hearted.” Mrs. Green told him.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started